Wednesday, September 17, 2008

First day of classes at the UB

Today I started my actual classes at the Universidad de Barcelona.

My first class was at 10am at the Facultad de Economicas, called Organizacion de Economicas Internacionales (or Organization of International Economics). The Economics campus is a 30 minute ride away on the metro. I got there a little early, and it took me a little while to figure out exactly where I was going, but I made it to class on time and all was well. I sat next to a girl who said she is taking the class for the second time (she didn't pass the first time) and she also said that typically only about half of the class passes this class. So, I am a little intimidated by that but I think for now I'll stick it out and see if I can't be part of the half that passes it.

It does, however, sound like a really interesting class. Today's professor (there are three different ones that rotate throughout the semester) was very easy for me to understand and had a good sense of humor and made it sound like we will be talking about a lot of current issues that could be very interesting. Out of the 50 or so in the class, there were about 8 or 10 or so that raised their hands when he asked how many exchange students were in the class.

After that class, I went home for lunch and my host mom cooked me an alfredo pasta and baked fish...yumm. Then it was time to head to the Facultad de Historia--which is only a 15 minute ride away on the metro--for Union Europea and Psicologia Politica (European Union and Political Psychology).

European Union sounds like it will be a very good class as well. The professor talks very fast and with a very thick accent, so of the American students in the class I was one of the few who actually can understand him. But this class also sounds like it will touch on a lot of current issues and good topics.

Political Psychology was a class I was intending to audit rather than take for credit. The professor talks slowly (which almost put me to sleep) but he is easy to understand and again the curriculum sounds very interesting. I am not sure if I will audit this class, or take it for credit instead of taking the beginner Catalan class. This one would fit better into my schedule, and Catalan will be relatively useless to me once I leave Barcelona, so this might be a better class for me to be taking for credit. We will see.

This afternoon I am just taking it easy, catching up on blog and photos and email and such. I might try to find something fun to do this evening since my only class tomorrow is at 2pm, and then I dont have class on Fridays (3-day weekends all semester!!).

That's all for now. Peace.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Thanks for the updates! Very interesting.